Programs in the App Store

After many years of wavering, I have pretty much shifted to saying apps instead of programs, and I’m not sure I like it.

I really didn’t have much of a choice, considering the place where I get “programs,” be it for my iPhone or my Mac, is called the App Store. I’m not even sure how much I like these app stores. I don’t have much a of choice with my iPhone, but on my Mac, whenever possible, I avoid the official Mac App Store because I prefer to get apps directly from the developer whenever possible. The Mac App Store is also really slow and buggy, even on my relatively powerful iMac.

Then there’s the iPhone. Wandering into the iOS App Store without an idea of the specific app I want to buy is an overwhelming experience. The amount of garbage that’s in there that is either useless, terrible, ugly, and in some cases dangerous is something Apple should be embarrassed about. Issues can range from not being optimized for recent iPhone models, to causing severe battery drain (hi there Pokemon Go!), or to pretty much tracking you.

The thing is, I don’t use many apps because I live a clutter free digital lifestyle. The problems the app stores have don’t affect me too much. The biggest problem these stores have brought me has been changing my brain to calling them apps instead of programs, and that makes me a little sad.

Programs in the App Store

Leave a Reply

